Therapy

by Leila Dayne


ImportantPeopleInYourLifeTo me, the best therapy I can get is from my girlfriends. With all of our busy schedules it’s hard for us to be able to see each other as much as we would like, but we try very hard to meet up with each other at least once a week if only for a quick lunch.

Our discussions are constantly all over the place and we always have multiple conversations going on at once. (Today the waiter stood next to our table, slack-jawed and when we asked him what was wrong, he laughed and replied how amazing it was that we could all simultaneously be talking, taking in what the others were saying and responding. He said it was like watching the most impressive juggling act he’s ever seen! Ha!) No matter what we are discussing it’s wonderful to have someone there to listen, and respond when needed. Being able to surround yourself with wonderful people who you can have honest and in-depth conversations with is a truly amazing feeling. Sure we can gossip and talk fashion but being able to talk about your life, your beliefs, your struggles is vastly more important than the latest “It” bag.

In my quest to grow and build a better life, having this people around to vent to, talk/discuss with and help through their own problems is wonderful. I think at times we all get so caught up in the hustle of everyday life that we forget to nurture the bonds of those we are closest to…be it friends, family or both. I still make the time to send hand written thanks you cards for everything, even wonderful advice, and try to challenge myself daily to not be so tied down by technology that I forget to continue to take care of and develop bonds with people. It’s a challenge I hope I can rise to.