Renewal

by Leila Dayne


We’ve all made mistakes in our past…I make no attempts to hide mine…and one of my most obvious mistakes, from when I was 15, was a horrendous tattoo obtained while intoxicated on the inside of my left wrist. Luckily it wasn’t huge, but it was definitely noticeable.

It was not my first tattoo, nor would it be my last, but I learned a very valuable lesson that day. Well, more accurately  the next day. Do not make lasting decisions regarding your body on a whim or while intoxicated and also do not trust an acquaintance with a tattoo gun and a willingness to experiment on you.

I’m very lucky to have grown up and made some wonderful friends who are phenomenal tattoo artists. My all time favourite was in town visiting and we went out to eat and catch up this evening. The night ended with a gorgeous tattoo cover up gifted to me as a late Christmas present because he knew how unhappy I was with the one I had. What once was some terrible, crooked lettering is now a gorgeous orange and pink tiger lily that I adore.

I just applied the same principles that I have been applying to the rest of my life…if you don’t like something, fix it. It’s something I wish I would have done years ago but I suppose it’s better late than never. The temporary pain was completely worth having such a beautiful outcome that I can be proud of instead of hiding it away behind sleeves and layers of jewelry. As soon as it is cleaned up and healed, I will attempt to get some pictures up.

All My Love,

LD