Radio Silence…

by Leila Dayne


I promise I haven’t fallen into a coma and forgotten I have this blog!! :] Things have just been insanely hectic and crazy lately and I was hardly able to find the time to squeeze some sleep in, let alone blog!! (Plus it seems my app on my phone that is supposed to make my life easier actually does just the opposite since it hardly ever works!)

But I wanted to put a quick something together because today is a very important day in my life.

7 Years ago today I became a mom.

Being a mom was something I never planned in my life. I wasn’t the girl who wanted the marriage and the white picket fence and the 2.5 kids. I’ve always sort of been a gypsy and a nomad. Finding comfort in traveling and exploring the world. To me kids were complicated, confusing and time-consuming. Not something I was going to put on the books for myself. I got the surprise of my life when I found out I was pregnant…and this wasn’t just, “Oh, I’m a couple of weeks pregnant!!” this was, “OMFG!! I’m 22 weeks along!!!”

What began as a terrifying surprise was the best adventure in life I have ever taken. I have learned more about myself, the world, and others by becoming a parent. It opened up a whole side of me I would have never discovered had I remained child-less. I’d be a much more selfish person if not for the selflessness that you learn through parenthood. Believe me, parenting isn’t for everyone. But sometimes you may surprise yourself in what you are capable of. I was a little wild child who had a few months to get my life together and become the guardian of an even smaller wild child.

Taking great risks will bring you great rewards. I’m so glad I took the very scary leap into parenting…I can’t even imagine how my life would be today without my little best friend. My tiny Partner in Crime. Sure, there are days that are difficult and trying but all of the smiles and fun and love make it all worth it in the long run!!

So, now I’m heading off for a little birthday fun and shinanigans so I hope you all have a great day!!

Also…Happy Birthday to The Greatest Of All Time…mister Michael Jordan!! (Tiny is just now getting into basketball and learning about him so he thinks it’s pretty cool they share the same bday!!)

All My Love,

LD