Judging Books By Their Covers…Literally…

by Leila Dayne


The other day I was home with an under the weather Tiny Human and he was relaxing with me while I reorganized one of my bookshelves. He found my copy of Clockwork Orange and was entranced by the cover. (I mean, really? How could you not be?!)

11

Since he can read but what is obviously too young for this book I asked him to tell me what he thought this book was about…solely by judging the book by its cover. 

It was hilarious to say the least.

After several minutes of thoughtfully staring at it he replied, “It’s about a one-eyed robot. A very colorful robot. He’s pretty fancy for a robot, because he’s wearing a top hat and suspenders. But he can’t talk because he has no mouth, so he’s out looking for a mouth.”

His studious glances and careful consideration were not lost on me. I think this will be a new game we play now on our trips to the library. :]

All My Love,

LD